top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Roche

Pressure Cooker 13 Bean Soup

This soup recipe is a bowl of creamy goodness. Not necessarily a fast dinner, but this 13 bean soup mix from Bob's Red Mill is a no brainer. Plus, it is chalked full of protein with a colorful mix of navy beans, black beans, red beans, pinto beans, baby lima beans, large lima beans, garbanzo beans, great northern beans, kidney beans, black-eyed peas, yellow split peas, green split peas, and lentils. Follow my additions or make up your own for a satisfying and substantial meal that will leave your body feeling warm and cozy from the inside out. Food for the soul.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Bob's Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix

  • 1 diced onion

  • 1 can tomato sauce

  • 1-2 tbsp chili powder

  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)

  • 1/2 tsp cumin (optional)

  • 1-2 garlic diced garlic cloves

  • 1 cup oat milk

  • 6 tbsp melted butter of choice (I use the vegan brand Melt)

  • 1/2 cup flour

Recipe

  1. Rinse the soup mix and then add to the pot of your pressure cooker along with 3 cups of water and the diced onion, tomato sauce, chili powder, cayenne pepper, cumin, and garlic.

  2. Set the timer for 40 minutes and walk away... freedom!!! Once the timer has gone off allow the pressure to naturally release for 20 minutes.

  3. Melt the butter and whisk in the flour and oat milk then slowly add this mixture to the soup while stirring to incorporate.

  4. Allow the soup to heat through with the addition of the milk and voila!

  5. Eat as is or garnish with cilantro, tomato slices, jalapeño, and/or chips!

  • Cooking in the pressure cooker eliminates the need to soak the beans overnight, but it can still be done, and if you do then you can reduce the cook time. I usually am not thinking far enough ahead to do this, which is why I LOVE my Instant Pot.

  • This can of course be made on the stove top or in a slow cooker. I would probably soak the beans overnight if cooking with these methods. The back of the Bob's Red Mill package recommends cooking the beans for 60-90 minutes via stove top and 4-5 hours in a slow cooker.


14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


srocnp
Mar 01, 2021

Hello,

I was asked earlier today, by the author of this recipe,"what should we have for dinners this week"? In hindsight I now realize I spoke too quickly. As I am sitting here bored to death during a slow remote work day, I decided to peruse Leah's Rise Up Pantry blog. This is when I realized how many great meals she has prepped through the years. Needless to say, I did not request this particular meal.


This 13 bean soup is phenomenal! I call for a repeat of this meal, and with some hope the beautifully talented Mrs Roche will see this and recreate the magical meal. I am guessing she knows how to make it 😄.


Mr Roche


Like
bottom of page