top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Roche

Instant Pot Lentil Chili

I LOVE chili! We probably make it once a week in our house. Maybe more during football season... gotta have a good chili to watch the Steelers play! Here's the thing though, I'm not sure I've ever made a chili that comes out the same, because frankly, I add what we have on hand and throw in spices depending on the preferred tastes that day. However, I think I finally found a chili I'm willing to commit to writing down. I think it's the addition of the lentils that makes this one so darn good. They give it that little extra... je ne sais quoi? But oh my! I also adore that fact that you can make it in the Instant Pot.

Note: This recipe is adapted to be entirely vegan from the vegetarian lentil tortilla soup recipe over on Peas and Crayons.


Without further fuss and fluff here is the...


Recipe

1 tsp oil of choice (I like avocado)

1 onion diced

1 bell pepper diced

1 jalapeno pepper diced (optional if you want a little extra heat)

2.5 cups vegetable broth

15 oz canned crushed tomatoes

1/2 cup Pace Picante (or your favorite salsa!)

15 oz can black beans (drained and rinsed)

15 oz can pinto beans (drained and rinsed)

1 cup corn (I used frozen, but canned or fresh is just fine too)

3/4 cup dried lentils (I used green because that's what my store had)

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/4-1/2 cup oat milk (or milk/cream of choice)

salt and pepper to taste

1. Place all ingredients except for the milk/cream into the Instant Pot.

2. Set timer for 15 minutes and walk away!

3. Let pressure naturally release, then stir in the milk/cream.

4. Enjoy as is or top with other goodies. My family enjoyed crushed up tortilla chips and avocado.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page