top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Roche

I like to eat, eat, eat apples and bananas...

...And I like to oat, oat, oat opples and bononos.... yes, I live with a toddler. Why do you ask? Inspired by recent rainy days and two of the only fruits my toddler will eat I bring you delicious and warm comfort food in the form of apple-banana oat muffins. I like to tell myself that a muffin packed with fruit and oats is a brilliantly healthy breakfast, but the sugar might tell you otherwise. Oh well!


Ingredients

2 small apples graded (I left the peel on)

2 medium sized ripe bananas mashed

1/4 cup plain apple sauce, as in no sugar added

1 flax egg

1/2 cup sugar depending on how sweet you want your muffins

1 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup oat flour (I used my food processor and ground up regular rolled oats to create my flour)

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt


Recipes

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  2. Make your flax egg and put aside to set. Should take about 10 minutes.

  3. Combine graded apple, apple sauce, mashed bananas, sugar, cinnamon and flax egg and mix.

  4. Combine dry ingredients (oat flour, all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt) in a separate bowl.

  5. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until combined.

  6. Pour into the muffin tin prepared with muffin liners and lighly greased. Mine were probably about 3/4 full.

  7. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

Recipe notes: I really loved these, and I'm pretty sure I ate most of them. They are on the sweeter side (not a bad thing) so I wondered if next time I might cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup just for fun. I also would like for them to be slightly fluffier and would consider dabbling with the flour amount or increasing the amount of baking powder. If you make these and try any adjustments I'd love to hear what happened and how they turned out for you.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page