top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Roche

Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Hearts

It's almost Valentine's Day, and love is in the air making me feel extra grateful for the amazing people in my life both romantic and otherwise. There have been a handful of people that have really come through for me this last year. Partners, friends, family. The absolute loves of my life. Some things are just better when we are together. I think that is what makes this pandemic so very hard. I miss being together. This post is dedicated to all the special people in my life for showing up not just in the good times but the tough times too, and of course, most of all to my better half, Sean. The chocolate to my peanut butter. Xoxo!

Without further ado. My most favorite food combo of all time brought to you in a festive shape to celebrate: chocolate covered peanut butter hearts!


From the dessert mastermind over at Oh My Goodness Chocolate Desserts, these tasty treats are easy to make and addictively good. Make them for a special someone or for yourself because you're awesome and deserve to treat yo' self too.


Ingredients

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter

  • ¼ cup unsalted butter-melted

  • 2 tbsp brown sugar

  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

  • ¼ teaspoon salt

  • 2 cups powdered sugar

  • 10–12 oz. chocolate chopped in small pieces (I used candy coating chocolate to make it extra easy.)

Instructions

  1. Line 8 x 8-inch dish with parchment paper, leaving the paper overhang the sides so you can easily lift it later and set it aside.

  2. In a mixing bowl stir together peanut butter, melted butter, brown sugar vanilla, and salt until sugar dissolve.

  3. Gradually mix in powdered sugar.

  4. Press the mixture into the prepared dish. Smooth the top and flatten until it is about ½ inch thick.

  5. Place it in the fridge until firm enough for cutting. (I ended up leaving it overnight, but that is not necessary.)

  6. When the mixture is firm, line a tray with parchment paper and set it aside.

  7. Using a cookie cutter in the shape of a heart (or shape of your choice), cut out the hearts and place them on the tray. P.S. Don’t let any of that yummy peanut butter filling go to waste. Pick up leftovers, kneed and press with your palms and you will be able to cut out more hearts.

  8. Then melt the chocolate (or candy coating) and line another tray with parchment paper.

  9. Using a fork or toothpicks, dip each heart into the melted chocolate. Cover completely. Gently tap the fork and hold above the chocolate mixture to drip off the excess chocolate. Place on freshly lined parchment tray to dry completely.

*The peanut butter mixture is easier to work with when firm so the author suggests placing the peanut butter hearts in the fridge and freezer and just bringing out a few hearts at the time to dip.


**Store in a container in a cool dry place or in the fridge for longer shelf life though at my house this was not an issue as they vanished very quickly!


Special thanks to my bestest friend who had this awesome cutting board made for me. Muah!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page