top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Roche

Sandy's Granola

When I moved to Washington state back in 2006, I befriended my YMCA cycling instructor, Sandy. Though we've lost touch through the years, I will always think fondly of her. She took me in like a big sister and when we weren't cycling together (she talked me into riding in the Seattle to Portland bike race!) we'd spend many a Saturday cooking up yummy recipes in her kitchen. We often made big batches of this granola. Every time I make it I think of her, and I am reminded of the kindness of new friends when you're in new place trying to find your way.


Just a little close-up of the yummy, nutty goodness that awaits you...

A few things to point out before the recipe. Sandy always stressed to me that it was important to use the big rolled oats. No instant! She also adviced against using olive or cocoanut oil as they cook faster than canola.


Personally, I have always loved the recipe just the way it is, but it is important to point out that the quantities and additions in the list below can easily be adapted to your liking. Example... Not a fan of sunflower seeds? Don't use them or find a substitute! Now on to the good stuff!

Recipe

4 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup oat bran

1 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/2 cup raw flaxseed (I like to use ground)

3 cups chopped nuts (I like to use almonds and pecans)

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup pure maple syrup

2-3 cups chopped dried fruit (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Chop up the nuts. I pulse mine in a food processor. Then, mix all dry ingredients (except the dried fruit) in a large bowl.

3. Add maple syrup and canola oil and mix well.

4. Pour granola into a an uncreased pan. If you have a large enough pan you can cook the granola all in one batch. Otherwise bake in two batches. The granola should be about 3/4 to 1 inch thick.

5. Bake for approximately 10-15 minutes. Flip contents and stir.

6. Bake for approximately 10-15 minutes. Flip contents and stir.

7. Bake another 10 minutes and immediately remove the granola into a giant bowl to cool.

*Note that during the cooking stage if you smell the granola cooking in the oven you should immediately remove from the oven and flip and stir. What you are smelling are the edges getting browned.

8. After granola is cooled completely add the dried fruit if desired.


20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


dmscheppers
Feb 24, 2020

Anyone who know me, knows that I love, love, love granola. This recipe is my all time FAVORITE. The texture is a perfect mix of toasted oats and crunchy nuts. It's also not too sweet, just enough to let the fruit say hello. By the way, this granola is a great snack with some dark chocolate chips added. YUM!

Like
bottom of page