top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Roche

Chickpea Salad Sandwich

Updated: Feb 22, 2020

Since going plant-based in our diet, I think chickpeas have become one of my favorite foods. They're so great to throw in salads and soups. They're also fun to smash up for a new twist on a veggie sandwich! The pictures I took of this do not do it justice. Speaking of pictures. I am quickly learning taking pictures of food is HARD. There are several factors going on here. One, by the time I'm finished making something I'm hungry and want to eat and not fool around forever taking photos. Two, lighting and serving wear are important and there is a definite learning curve here. Thanks to all of you for sticking with me. I'm working on getting better at the pictures! I promise!

Recipe

15 oz can chickpeas drained and rinsed

2-3 celery stocks diced

1/2-1 cup of grapes sliced

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup pecans chopped

1/3-1/2 cup store mayonnaise (regular or vegan)

1-2 tsp dijon mustard

1 tsp yellow mustard

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp dried dill

1/8 tsp pepper

2 tbsp unsalted sunflower seeds


1. Mash up your chickpeas. You can take the longer and boring route with a fork or if you're luck enough to have a food processor dump them in and pulse those suckers until they are good and chopped up. Just don't go over board and and puree them. Think chicken salad sandwich consistency here ;-)

2. Stir in the rest of the ingredients.

3. Eat as is, assemble as a sandwich, or top a nice leafy green salad.

4. As always, enjoy!


Bonus: This recipe holds up well as leftovers too.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page